Like a sheep sometimes

So, I really hate it when people only like something because millions of other people like it. At the same time, there are many things that I wish millions of people would like, because let’s be honest, millions of people have dollars and dollars get things done. Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter are great examples of things that were given their due credit on film because millions of people were willing to pay for it.

You can also take a more literal example like two kickstarters recently. One for Lizzie Bennet Diaries through Pemberley Digital and also the famous record-breaking Veronica Mars Movie (both for which I am terribly excited)!

But, I have to say, I am like a sheep, following the flock, when it comes to excitement over Hunger Games.

Photo from Facebook

Photo from Facebook

To hipster-it-up, I liked it before most people liked it. I liked it before the possibility of a movie was even out there. I liked the books so much, I thought about them during work hours. I yearned so much for my next break just so I could get a taste of what was in the next chapter.

I got my mom hooked (even though she read it before me, I was the one who told her about it) and I even got my husband hooked. He read all three in one beef-filled weekend while I was away. (I wasn’t eating much beef at the time.) And, like I do with most stories I dive into, I was Katniss Everdeen in my head. When Jennifer Lawrence was cast, my dreams of playing the role in the movie were crushed. Although, I wasn’t nearly as upset about blondie as other people were.

But yes, I am a sheep. I’m pumped for the new movie. The trailer is out now (watch it), and it’s supposedly a “teaser trailer” but I’ve never seen a teaser trailer that’s a full 2 and half minutes, so it’s a trailer.

So I just want to say “thank you, fellow sheep.” I’m glad that money is being poured into this to make it awesome. In my opinion, the movies could use some internal narration from Katniss to really get a feel for the book, but I think the vision is there.

Can’t wait for November!

Leave a Reply

