Welcome to Sanditon Roleplayers

So, I’m a huge fan of Pemberley Digital and their projects, but their latest one, Welcome to Sanditon, has run my patience a little thin.

Photo from Tumblr

Photo from Tumblr

Now I’m not going to say I’m angry or frustrated or that I’ll retaliate by not watching it anymore, but it is a little draining to watch nothing but YouTube roleplayers every other episode. As a loyal fan of Lizzie Bennet Diaries, I feel like I’m entitled to say that I was really expecting more from this Gigi Darcy spinoff. But that’s not the entirety of my opinion!

The non-role playing episodes (the ones with hired actors), are exactly what I was hoping for. The characters are fun and the town rivalry is very intriguing, and who doesn’t love themselves some Gigi? It is true, however, that I, along with many other fans, feel somewhat cheated out of the story when a bunch of random people talk about craft night or their fictional bakeries.

But, as I’ve read among the comments on YouTube and Facebook, we need to remember that they are trying to meet a demand in between series. Their last one took a year! It’s going to be a while before the next one is ready, so I’m happy to have something to nibble on while I wait. And Gigi Darcy is one of the most well-liked characters from LBD. I love having her to transition me to whatever lies in store.

So what I have to say is: be patient, Seahorses. They won’t let us down. Maybe skip the filler episodes, if it really gets to you, but stick it out! The minds at work genuinely care about every fan (and that includes the roleplayers, who are probably having a lot of fun) and they want to deliver something special.

Leave a Reply

