Game of Endings

So the season “finale” of Game of Thrones season 3 aired on Sunday.

If you’ve never seen/heard of the show, or you don’t want spoilers, then don’t read beyond this, because I’m going to explain why the word “finale” is in quotations.

Game-Of-Thrones-music1

Again, SPOILERS AHEAD.

READ NO FURTHER IF YOU WANT TO AVOID SPOILERS!

If you’ve seen the season finale, you’ve seen the Red Wedding episode. The horrible conclusion to a non-important wedding in which three of the main characters were brutally killed. When that episode aired, I was on vacation trying to buy a house. So I didn’t hear anything about it until I watched it, which happened to be the morning of my birthday.

See, my husband’s a book-reader of the series, so he knew it was coming. And I repeatedly asked him what kind of cruel person does that to someone ON THEIR BIRTHDAY! I was horrified.

See a reaction video on Conan

But alas! He promised me that the season finale was going to be way beyond my expectations. They’ve been building up to a Royal Wedding, which all of us show-watchers have been anticipating all season. They’ve been hinting at this and that. But mostly, they had some ground to cover to keep up with the book, and also, to follow everything that happened after the Red Wedding.

Let’s recap the season finales.
Season 1 – Dragons! (Awesome)
Season 2 – White Walkers! (Awesome)
Season 3 – Crowd surfing… (normally awesome, but in context, pretty lame)

And all I can hear now is the voices of book-readers inside my head saying “It could have been amazing!” But no, they wasted valuable time on horrendous Theon torture, which was NOT WORTH IT. If they cut out all those parts, I think we’d have room for another episode and could actually finish the season.

Needless to say, I’m thoroughly disappointed. Thoroughly, thoroughly disappointed. And I have to wait until 2014 for the show to continue.

It’s times like this I hate being a fan.

Leave a Reply

