FMA… And no, parents, it’s not a secret acronym among the youth

FMA. It stands for Fullmetal Alchemist, the first real anime that I ever watched.

And now, I’m watching it again, because there isn’t much else to do and my brother hasn’t seen it.

I really forgot how much I loved this show.

20130723-083610.jpg

And now, I’m going to try and convince you to watch it.

When I see the opening and closing credits, I nearly cry because of how much emotion I go through seeing all the characters and remembering each bit of this complicated story.

For the action lover, Fullmetal Alchemist is riddled with fight scenes and creative battle, using the concept of alchemy to create weapons mid-fight, making each one exciting and surprising. Also, there’s a lot of blood, if you like that sort of thing.

For the story lover (like me), the show has a very deep and intricate story, surprising you with both intense dark moments and uplifting morals. The relationships are well established and believable, particularly with the two brothers. You will laugh so much, and get angrier than you expected, and you’ll be in love all over again when you think of it.

For the disturbed folks, you won’t be disappointed. FMA and FMA Brotherhood have plenty of disturbing content, and coupled with great voice acting, even the average viewer will sit through it.

And for the doubters of anime, just stop already! If I’ve learned one thing, it’s that animation can bend all concepts of reality, allowing for a much more creatively capable platform. If you like reality TV and flawless young actors, then stick to what you know. I like a good story, one that exceeds my expectations, and Fullmetal Alchemist, along with many other anime, has done that for me.

I feel like I get a little geekier each year, but pretty much that just means I love more and more things as time goes by. What’s bad about that? Maybe I’ll get into cosplay or MMORPGs. Maybe I’ll discover sewing or knitting or become a famous cat trainer!

I have no regrets about watching Japanese animation, or playing Dungeons and Dragons, or immersing myself in books and TV. Open yourself up and try something new; you might fall in love with something quite unexpected.

Leave a Reply

