A little life experience

So, I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted something, but other than that the days/weeks are escaping me fast, I don’t have any excuses. I’ve been pretty sedentary at home lately. But I do manage to get out two or three times a week to help volunteer at the Charleston Animal Society, and it’s been great for keeping me moving!

Normally volunteers have to go through orientation, however, with the influx of kittens in need, I was able to put that on hold. And there are days you wouldn’t believe the work that’s needed.

First, the emergency cases need to be seen by the person in charge. Then the kittens and mama cats need to be fed. Then their cages cleaned. This takes probably 2 hours if the room is fairly full and there are three people working. Which is normally the case for me. Then they need to be loved, and the needy ones may need something. Then there is usually some new arrivals. There have been days that I stayed 6 hours. Not to mention that getting on the freeway from my house is tough in the mornings and there’s always a chance of hitting the train.

The good parts are the lovey little kittens who are so tiny and just want to cuddle or play, the mama cats who are so proud if their kittens, and when a kitten or litter of kittens gets to go in a home for foster care, because it means they have a greater chance of getting adopted.

The bad parts are obviously the mess and smell, and the cats who want nothing to do with you, and the scratching. I got scratched once and the little guy couldn’t be handled by volunteers for 2 weeks. He was just excited, which made me feel worse, but they have their reasons. It’s also hard to not take some of my favorites home, but you know, I took in two of my own, and so I’ve done my part.

The toughest thing I’ve dealt with was a tiny kitten that died on the table. I realize it’s a fact of nature, but that doesn’t mean I want to watch it happen. I believe humans are more important than animals and I will never consider my pets on the same level as my children, but God calls us to be good stewards to our animals, and I feel that means love should be in the equation. At least for me.

As far as my cats go, they’re growing a lot still. I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t call them kittens very often anymore. They are very sweet and both of them love to cuddle and play. Cuddle usually with me and play usually with each other. I think they try to deny that they like each other sometimes, but when Mercury forces Neptune to let her give him a bath, or when they huddle in the bathroom together when I whip out the vacuum, I know they are good friends.

I think that’s it for now. I will be posting more soon, I’m sure, so sit tight!

Leave a Reply

