Many things to consider

I am fully aware that I have not updated my progress on the ol’ personal life for quite some time. Like… more than a month. But, take that as fairly good news, because really, my life hasn’t exactly been eventful, save for one kind of minor car accident. But I’ll get to that!

12 weeks along!

12 weeks along!

So, last time I updated on my pregnancy, I was 7 weeks along. Not much was happening except some morning sickness. I mean, really, I don’t do much. It’s probably a combination of the fact that I am now tired, sore, sick, and have no money to spend. Besides, I love watching TV and cuddling with kittens all day. It’s not exciting, but I’m pretty certain I’ll get my fill of exciting in a few short months. Six months, actually.

The weeks went by, and Jimmy was positively amazing. In addition to his full-time job, he cooked, cleaned, took care of the cats and stayed home or spontaneously left depending on how I felt. I slept 10-12 hours, usually starting with the couch at 9:30pm and ending after he’d left for work. And, if for some reason I was up before he left, I would probably throw up, to which he would get me everything I needed and often clean up the mess before he even gathered his own lunch. I am one lucky woman. I mean, I guess lucky isn’t the word. I’ve more than won the lottery. I could never even imagined up such an amazing person. And the crazy thing is, he says the same stuff about me. Like, what? By the grace of God I was introduced to this man, and he thinks that he’s the lucky one.

I know. Pure insanity. I should have him checked out.

But back to the progress.

I saw my doctor at about 10 weeks and saw the beautiful little one on the ultrasound machine. And it didn’t look like a coffee bean anymore! It looked like the profile of an itty bitty human. The picture isn’t as clear, but you can see the head (round part a short distance from the arrow) and the wispy arms and legs.

598580_10151712787523727_185405003_n

Needless to say, I am a very happy mama already.

Unfortunately, two days later, after we’d gone out to eat, Jimmy and I were rear-ended in our truck. Immediately, my neck hurt a little, and my head probably bruised, but my abdomen felt perfectly fine. The next day I called my doctor and left a message, which was then returned by his nurse and I was able to see them the next day. I was freaked out to say the least. I mean, I’m just that way. I worry about the chance that something horrible could happen.

I was relieved to find out the baby was perfectly fine! There wasn’t a lot of reason to actually worry, but, you know, that’s me.

So, currently, I’m working on healing from whiplash through massage and chiropractic care. Also, a lot of relaxing!

I’m trying to focus a lot on what I want right now. Obviously I want what’s best. I’ve decided on a hospital birth, leaning towards a natural delivery (heavily), and completely undecided on names! I am probably going to say that name every day for the rest of my life, so I have to make it good!

Do you have any name suggestions? Tips on birthgiving or advice you’d like to share? What about ideas for how to discover the gender? (I really like the idea of cutting a frosted cake to reveal pink or blue!)

Leave a Reply

