Movie Monday: Boy Meets World (not a movie…)

I guess I’m not doing super well with this whole “movie monday” thing. Part of it was due to the fact that my mom and aunt visited last week (more on that later!) but also, I am much more comfortable without any meaningless commitments.

But, I need to continue writing. I might even try NaNoWriMo next month. Continuing to get words written is important, even if I’m not really being all that creative.

So, here we go.

Boy Meets World

Boy Meets World

Since I was occupied last week, my DVR got pretty full, and that meant that I had hours and hours of Boy Meets World to watch. If you’ve never seen/heard of it, that’s a shame. The show ran from 1993 to 2000, so there is a lot of 90’s goodness. Cory Matthews, the show’s main character, is only around 12-years-old at the start of the show, so it starts out being very kid-focused and family friendly. As the show progresses, the focus on romance grows stronger, until Cory and Topanga (the love interest) officially become a couple, which is the focal point of the show from then onward.

I watched this show when it was still running, and have always liked it. I was incredibly excited when ABC Family put every episode on their midday line-up, 4 at a time, from beginning to end. I have to say, of all the TV I’ve watched (and it’s been a lot over the years), watching Boy Meets World in sequence has been one of the most satisfying television experiences for me.

Should I get a life? Yeah, I should. But you know, the clock is ticking on that one. (Around 178 days, to be precise). So for now, I thoroughly enjoy reliving the 90’s through this happy world.

One thing that has surprised me, now that I’m rewatching as an adult, is how much the show references sex, but also, how well-written it is.  The jokes are subtle enough that little kids can still enjoy it, but also present enough as to be realistic in the life of an in-love teenage boy. Things like Cory telling the front desk man at the hotel that he needs a room because he’s “tired,” and mentioning that he’s not sure what kind of room he needs because he’s never been “tired” before. Or this clever dialogue in the horror movie themed episode:
Shawn: The virgins are safe. Virgins never die.
Cory: (excitedly) Thank you Topanga!
Jack: Well, I’m dead.
Eric: I’m dead too.
Shawn: I’m about as dead as you can get without actually dying.
They then proceed to realize that the elderly Mr. Feeny has died, and start chanting “Go Feeny! Go Feeny!” (For the sake of those who haven’t seen the show, the horror movie episode was almost entirely a dream sequence, so Mr. Feeny’s death was not actually realized in this episode.)

The writers aren’t unclear about what Cory is going through, and they make it clear that honesty and love should come before any major relationship decisions. All of this is hidden behind goofy characters, clever writing, and a generally family-friendly face. It’s a far cry from the “Honka Honka” jokes of How I Met Your Mother, which is a show about nothing but sex, save for the occasional silly joke.

All I can say is, Boy Meets World is a fantastic show for someone like me, remaining clever, honest, and goofy (in the best way) throughout the series. And I am very thrilled for the spin-off series to come, Girl Meets World, which centers around Cory and Topanga’s 13-year-old daughter. The producer of the series has promised that any of the cast that was a part of the original will be welcomed if they want to participate in the new show, and that the writers will try to address many of the original show’s unanswered questions. My major concern is that the show, which will air on Disney Channel, will follow suit of other Disney shows instead of following suit on Boy Meets World, but I guess only time will tell.

For now, I’m determined to finish what I started!

Leave a Reply

