Four Months and Counting!

Can you believe it? I’m 16 weeks 3 days along right now, and I couldn’t be happier. You know why?

1462989_10151802278708727_1677720111_n

I’m hitting a lot of milestones! There’s obviously the four month mark. And even though I was technically showing before this, this is the first time that my belly reads more as “pregnant” than just pudgy. I am also seemingly over morning sickness (which is just fancy talk for general pregnancy-related nausea) so hooray! And then there’s the most exciting part:

Pretty sure I’m feeling the “quickening.”

What’s the “quickening,” you ask? Well it’s that fabulous part of a woman’s pregnancy where she feels the first MOVEMENTS! Like, baby-related abdominal movements. These flutters usually start between 16 and 20 weeks, and usually later for first-time pregnancies. But I’m happy to say that I have very little doubt these feelings I’ve been having around my belly button are, in fact, my child.

I’m fairly certain that it’s my baby for three reasons:
1. It’s in the appropriate area. Below or around my belly button, where my belly is firm, due to the fact I have a human in there. My stomach is actually pushed up by my lungs now, so I know it’s not related to hunger or digestion.
2. It’s consistent with the descriptions I’ve read. A lot of people describe it as butterflies, gas, or muscle spasms. I’ve read that a lot of the reason that first-time moms don’t feel it this early is because they don’t recognize it. But then, there’s my next reason:
3. I’m small, and attentive. Honestly, there isn’t a lot of room in my body, and I’m average-thin, and I am not very active. Most of the time I feel it when I’m laying on my back, and I pay close attention to what I feel. Sometimes, nothing, and other times, very faint pulling and tapping.

There’s a baby in there! I’m hoping that in a month’s time I will be able to feel more prominent kicks. That way, when I come to visit my family, they can experience my pregnancy with me!

I have a very well-loved baby already. I can’t wait to meet you, little one!

 

One thought on “Four Months and Counting!

Leave a Reply

