Media Not-So-Frenzy

Greetings friends and readers unknown!

Things are about to get personal. Kinda.

One of the purposes I even started this blog was to share all of my myriad of interests. A rather large portion of my interests revolve around media, meaning things like books, music, movies, TV, you get the gist.

Well, God has sort of intervened on that front. Let me explain.

I’m not sure why, but the past couple months, God has been challenging me to reconsider what I consume for entertainment. I was always the kind of person that thought I kind of did that already. But the thing is, actively not re-watching something I don’t like and staying away from things I’m not sure are good for my soul, well, those are two completely different things. And God wants me to do the latter. I really haven’t figured out how I’m going to navigate this sort of thing yet, but there is one thing that I’ve decided:

I’m self-censoring for the betterment of my walk with God.

When you’re a Christian, chances are you’ve run across someone who talks about that they don’t partake in very much “secular” entertainment. Secular, in this case, would just refer to non-Christian. A lot of people, admittedly myself included, don’t really understand how someone (or a whole family unit for that matter) could stay away from so much pop culture, and frankly, it seems kind of futile and totally uncool. But, in reading Proverbs this last weekend, my change of heart was confirmed.

“Like a city whose walls are broken through 
   is a person who lacks self-control.” (Proverbs 25:28 NIV)

You see, God has brought to light a few times these past months that I am wasting away behind my attempts to pass the time until my dear husband gets home. I was pretty much bored all day, watching various reality shows. But when EV was born, I felt like I couldn’t just waste time anymore. Her babyhood is going to expire. I have to enjoy it while it lasts. So, I need to quit being brain dead and start treasuring moments.

But, then it started to go beyond that. Like, should I really listen to music with explicit lyrics or meaningless (or worse, foolish) themes? Should I just turn off the mind-numbing competition shows? Should I give up on sex-crazed media, even if I do kind of like the story? Should I stop sitting through violent and disturbing story lines, even if I dig the catharsis? Should I start saying “no” even if the movie has hardly started?

The answer is: yes. For myself, anyway. I’m at a point in my spiritual journey that it is necessary to stop partaking in (and funding) media that takes away from my relationship with God. And the aforementioned types of media were doing that. And honestly, if I plan to limit my children’s screen time, I should be decent at doing it for myself, right?

One of the hardest things I have to say “no” to, though, is Game of Thrones. I mean, it’s an example of one of many things I am now giving up. The show (haven’t read the books) is pretty cool. There’s compelling story and it is one of the few stories out there that is truly unpredictable. You very quickly have to give up any notion that you see what could be ahead, because George R.R. Martin does a happy dance when you are completely shocked and disappointed and horrified. But the story is riddled with violence, sex, and just downright disturbing stuff, and though I appreciate the intensity of emotions he is able to draw out of me (because, let’s be honest, I’m a sucker for feels), that show has caused me to sin in my heart.

“Do not let your heart envy sinners,
but always be zealous for the fear of the Lord.” (Proverbs 23:17 NIV)

So, buh-bye, GoT. I know it might come as a shock, but I gotta give up being cool.

(Bet George R.R. Martin didn’t see that one comin’)

We also said goodbye to TV. It’s helped our wallets, and actually, I feel like we can accomplish more in a day. Now, I’m careful what goes in my Netflix queue. I’m careful what words I read and what lyrics I sing along to. I watch out for ratings and pay mind to why things are rated a certain way. I just, all around, I would rather have enrichment than distraction. Especially in regards to my walk with God.

I still haven’t actually figured out how I’m going to do this. What rules should I use? When do I take things with a grain of salt? When do I walk out of a theater and ask for my money back? I mean, right now, I’m just trying to stick to things that I know won’t cause conflict in my heart. And I’m still kind of learning what that means.

But I’m happy. I prefer kid movies anyway.

One thought on “Media Not-So-Frenzy

  1. Moriah,
    I applaud your resolve and will pray for your discernment. Like many movies, there are graphic stories in the Bible itself, all of which have a message. A pastor friend of mine who watches a variety of movies with her husband and kids uses a set of criteria which you may find useful in the evaluation process. She would ask three questions of the movie:
    1) Was it well done?
    2) What was the message? and
    3) Is the message true?
    I have found this to be extremely helpful in deciding whether a movie is basically God-honoring or not. If I am unsure of whether to watch a movie, I read several reviews before deciding whether or not to watch it.
    Hope this helps!
    Love,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

