Christmas is not over yet!

I really am one of those crazies who can’t get enough of Christmas. I start to miss the season around… March usually. Before Easter even gets going. I just love the spirit, the happiness, the music, and all the lights! And of course, I love that Christmas is a reminder of the birth of Christ, which was such a joyous occasion, a legion of angels sang about it to earthly witnesses! It may not be Jesus’ actual birthday, but God uses it for His glory every year.

And when it comes to the other stuff, sure, it’s far less important, but even God is no stranger to the fun of festivities. So, this year I was super happy to get our tree up about a week before Thanksgiving, because just seeing a tree up gives me those warm fuzzy feelings! And I’m also happy because it’s staying up until mid-January, because we still have some Christmas to take care of! That’s right, Jimmy’s family (all of them!!) are coming to Chucktown to see their littlest members and do some more Christmas stuff. I’ll get to break out the Christmas outfits again. Bake cookies. Open presents. I love it!

And about our actual Christmas Day, I have to say, it was pretty wonderful. We stayed home, in our PJs, played with new toys, ate some good food, watched Frozen and just enjoyed each other. Just me, Jimmy and our two kids. Low-key and, you know, I wouldn’t be upset if that was how our kids remembered Christmas.

I’ve been thinking about traditions, and I want to implement lots of good ones for our kids. We really enjoy St Nicholas Day (candy in your shoe, and don’t forget the orange!) and I love the idea of the Christmas Eve box (pjs, a snack, and a book or movie all meant for that night). Of course, making cookies and watching Christmas movies are great options too. But I want some more meaningful ones too. I didn’t want to go too crazy this year, though. My kids are still babies and I have some time.

Gosh, but these babies are growing so fast! Sam is huge. A couple babies have been born in my circle of friends last month, and comparing him to them is just crazy. But he’s getting rolls, and smiling, and of course he is super strong and loves to move. Sam can roll over both ways now. He is only 11 weeks old and he’s been doing it like a pro for some time. And EV is getting bigger. I find myself looking at pictures from just a month or two ago and seeing such a huge change. She is playing very well with bigger kids, and articulating herself very well. She says “look” and “I’m sorry”and “help” and “all done” and “okay”. Properly. She uses those words how they’re meant to be used. It’s so crazy how fast this is going!

One of the very small gifts I got was a new journal. I am such a journal junkie! But I always have trouble filling journals. Then my mom told be about bullet journaling! It’s so awesome for someone like me, who seriously can’t keep anything straight. I usually like to write diary entries or stories in journals, but I’ve been using this system for my to-dos and ideas, and it’s working pretty well for me. I might try hand-lettering with it. I might start a different blog, like, one for making money and contributing to society and all that, and use my bullet journal to guide me. I’ve played with the idea of podcasting too. I used to have a radio show back in the day, kind of. I loved it. It was fun, and I don’t know, I just love the idea of having a creative outlet. My problem has never been dreaming. It’s been executing.

So we will see what the future holds! But for now, I’m super excited to keep on with my Christmas and watch these kiddos grow. Family has been so worth every sacrifice to me.

New Year’s was not super exciting in this house. That’s what we can expect for a while if we want to spend it with the kids.  But we did open a coconut, like we do every year, and Jimmy made Pina Colada pancakes, which were delicious! We might have to add that to our coconut ritual.

 Happy New Year!

One thought on “Christmas is not over yet!

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post. Your exuberance shines through it, for your family, for your dreams, for God and, of course…CHRISTMAS!

Leave a Reply

